Teacake Tuesday

ingredients
Ingredients

Today my plans got changed, and since I was practically stuck at home I decided to do some baking. I’ve been baking tea cake cookies since I was four.  Of course I had help back then.  But I’ve always called 350 degrees as tea cake cookie time because that is what they bake at.  

 

 

 

 

 

First combine a stick of butter/margarine and 1 cup of sugar until creamed and then add 1 egg.  Mix together.

 

 

 

 

 

butter sugar and egg
Butter sugar and egg

        

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Slowly add 2 1/4 cups of flour and 1 tablespoon of vanilla flavoring.  To be honest I usually leave the flavoring out, because I tend to forget it.  You can use other flavoring beside vanilla.  Today I used vanilla butter nut. 

 

 

add 2 1/4 cups flour

 

 

 

 

 

 

On a floured service, I used aluminum foil.   Roll out the dough. Thickness varies, some like their cookies thick and soft , others thin and crispy.   One rule when using cookie cutters to cut out cookies is to start on the edge/outside.  To many people start by putting the cutter directly in the middle of the dough.  STOP THAT!  Start on the outside and work your way in.

cookie cutter

Place cookies on a greased cookie sheet and bake at 350 (tea cake cookie temperature) for 10 to 12 minutes.  If you like your a little bit browner/crisper let them cook a bit longer.

 

 

Cookie sheet cookies

 

cool cookies

Let cookies cool, if you can and enjoy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

